NCP Nature Care Product

NCP – Product Certification for Natural Products

Labeling of Environmental-Friendly Products

Many of our everyday items that are currently for sale contain plasticizers, microplastics and many other ingredients that are harmful to the environment and health. As a result, more and more people are looking for sustainable alternatives that respect and protect people and the environment. 

NCP (Nature Care Product Standard) provides a simple environmental label for everyday items. The label is designed for all non-food products made from renewable raw materials, such as detergents, cleaning products, hygiene products, care products for objects, toys, candles or fertilizers that are made from natural ingredients and do not unnecessarily harm the environment. 

This certification closes the regulatory gap in the ecological non-food sector, defining necessary standards for truly sustainable natural products for the first time. 

NCP-certified products meet the highest quality standards due to the thorough product testing: for example, that they are made of natural sourced materials, preferably in organic quality. With the label, you can advertise your natural products and offer consumers the opportunity to recognize and choose a sustainable product. 

For natural cosmetics, GfaW offers the NCS standard .

Here The standard and the accompanying INCI positive list can be downloaded HERE. The criteria in the standard are decisive for certification.
Further information can be found unter "Costs and Processes of Certification".„.

The Advantages of the NCP Label

The NCP quality label identifies natural products and sets strict criteria which can be found in the standard. This concentrated marketing, that is the concentration of the versatile requirements in one label, offers you, as producer the following advantages:

gfaw-tabelle-vorteile-ncp

Regulatory Ccope of the NCP Standard: Raw Materials and their Manufacturing Processes

The NCP standard defines and specifies the qualities of raw materials for natural products; some raw materials are strictly prohibited, such as quaternary ammonium compounds or borium and its derivatives. 

For all further details, please refer to the NCP standard in the download area.

Costs and Procedure of the Certification

Costs of the Certification:

  • for providing the standard (GfaW): per product, brand and year: 98 EUR net 
  • for the certification process (certification body): billing by time (depending on the product type, the duration of the verification varies). Please ask the certification body for a quotation.

Procedure of the Certification: 

  1. contacting and contract closing with GfaW and the certification body 
  2. registration of the products at the certification body with the required documents that are necessary for an evaluation of the products (when registering a product for the first time, all data relevant for the certification will be collected)
  3. receipt of the documents you need to prove if your products are compliant with the standard
  4. verification of the products for their conformity with the standard by the certification body
  5. receipt of the certificate to use the label 
  6. subsequent annual on-site audits by the inspection body to verify and ensure the compliance with the criteria in your company  Einhaltung der Kriterien in Ihrem Unternehmen

Please note: all the information about the raw materials described in the criteria of the standard are a prerequisite for the evaluation of the products. The positive list of INCIs, which has been assessed as compliant by the certification body, is only considered as a guide in this regard. 

It is therefore not guaranteed that your raw materials comply with the standard only because they contain the INCIs listed on the positive list! 

If your product deviates from the NCP standard, you will be granted a certain amount of time to correct it. This can be 4 to 12 months, depending on the severity of the deviation. If the deviations are not corrected during this time, there will be no more conformity with the NCP, the certificate becomes invalid and the products cannot carry the label anymore. The NCP approved certification bodies operate in accordance with ISO 17065 and have many years of experience in certifying ethically oriented standards in the industry.

Currently approved certification body in product certifications:

Are you interested in a certification according to the NCP? Please feel free to contact us.

Already Aboard

The following companies got their products certified according to the NCP Nature Care Product Standard:

Things to Know about the NCP Standard

Food and unprocessed agricultural products can be labeled “organic”. Basis for this is the EU-Eco-Regulation. Anyhow, there is no comparable eco-regulation for natural products, that are produced and processed by agriculture or forestry but are not food.
Consumers expect and claim that natural products are also produced in natural processes as far as possible. 

In order to ensure this, the work group "Ecologcial Raw Materials" regularly exchanges information on all current topics relevant to sustainability. The expert group, currently consisting of GfaW, EcoControl and INCI-Experts, develops sustainable ecological requirements for raw materials used for natural or organic products through mutual transfer of knowledge and ideas.
A central role plays the replacement of petrochemical starting materials with plant-, sometimes animal- or fungus-derived substances. 

This replacement is absolutely pioneering especially performed by the producers of natural cosmetics, ecological detergents and cleaning agents as well as household articles. After all, the main aim is to guarantee or even improve the functionality of the products.

If the plant- or animal-based raw materials also come from organic farming, then a truly ecological non-food product is created!

If you are interested in attending the work group "Ecological Raw Materials", don´t hesitate to contact us.

en_GB

NCP – Produktzertifizierung für Naturprodukte

Die Kennzeichnung umweltverträglicher Produkte

Viele unserer Alltagsgegenstände, die derzeit auf dem Markt angeboten werden, enthalten Weichmacher, Mikroplastik und viele weitere umwelt- und gesundheitsschädigende Inhaltsstoffe. Daher sind immer mehr Menschen auf der Suche nach nachhaltigen Alternativen, die Mensch und Umwelt respektieren und schützen. 

NCP (Nature-Care-Product-Standard) bietet eine einfache Umwelt-Kennzeichnung für Gegenstände des täglichen Bedarfs. Das Siegel ist für alle Non-Food-Produkte aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen, wie Wasch- und Reinigungsmittel, Hygieneartikel, Pflegemittel für Gegenstände, Spielzeug, Kerzen oder Düngemittel, die aus natürlichen Inhaltstoffen bestehen und die Umwelt nicht unnötig belasten, konzipiert. 

Diese Zertifizierung schließt die Regelungslücke im ökologischen Non-Food-Bereich und definiert so erstmals notwendige Maßstäbe für echte nachhaltige Naturprodukte. 

NCP-zertifizierte Produkte erfüllen aufgrund der eingehenden Produktprüfung höchste Qualitätsstandards: beispielsweise, dass sie aus natürlichen Ursprungsmaterialien bestehen, bevorzugt in Bio-Qualität. Mit dem Siegel können Sie Ihre Naturprodukte ausloben und Verbraucher*innen die Möglichkeit bieten, ein nachhaltiges Produkt zu erkennen und sich dafür zu entscheiden. 

Für Naturkosmetik bietet die GfaW den NCS-Standard an.

HIER kann der Standard und die begleitende INCI-Positivliste heruntergeladen werden. Maßgeblich für eine Zertifizierung sind die Kriterien im Standard.
Weiterführenden Informationen finden Sie unter “Kosten und Ablauf der Zertifizierung“.

Die Vorteile des NCP-Siegels

Das Qualitätssiegel NCP kennzeichnet Naturprodukte. Dieses verdichtete Marketing bietet Ihnen als Hersteller*in folgende Vorteile:

gfaw-tabelle-vorteile-ncp

Regelungsumfang des NCP-Standards: Rohstoffe und ihre Herstellungsverfahren

Im NCP Standard sind die Qualitäten der Rohstoffe für Naturprodukte definiert und festgelegt; einige Rohstoffe sind strikt verboten, wie zum Beispiel quartiere Ammoniumverbindungen oder Borium und seine Derivate. 

Alle weiteren Details entnehmen Sie bitte dem NCP-Standard im Download-Bereich

Kosten und Ablauf der Zertifizierung

Kosten der Zertifizierung:

  • Kosten beim Standardgeber: je Produkt, Marke und Jahr: 98 Euro netto 
  • Bei der Zertifizierungsstelle: Abrechnung nach Zeit (je nach Produktart variiert die Dauer der Überprüfung). Bitte lassen Sie sich von der Zertifizierungsstelle ein Angebot erstellen.

Ablauf der Zertifizierung: 

  1. Kontaktaufnahme und Vertragsabschluss mit der GfaW und der Zertifizierungsstelle 
  2. Anmeldung der Produkte bei der Zertifizierungsstelle mit den erforderlichen Unterlagen, die für eine Bewertung der Produkte notwendig sind (bei erstmaliger Anmeldung eines Produktes werden alle Daten, die für die Zertifizierung relevant sind, erfasst)
  3. Bitte überprüfen Sie im Vorfeld, ob Ihre Rohstoffe dem Standard entsprechen
  4. Überprüfung der Produkte auf ihre Konformität mit dem Standard durch die Zertifizierungsstelle
  5. Erhalt des Zertifikats, um das Siegel nutzen zu können 
  6. Anschließende jährliche Vor-Ort-Audits durch die Kontrollstelle zur Überprüfung und Sicherung der  Einhaltung der Kriterien in Ihrem Unternehmen

Bitte beachten Sie: Die Voraussetzung für die Bewertung der Produkte sind alle Informationen über die Rohstoffe, die in den Kriterien des Standards beschrieben sind. Die Positivliste der INCIs, die durch die Zertifizierungsstelle als konform bewertet wurde, gilt hierbei lediglich als Orientierungshilfe. 

Es ist daher nicht garantiert, dass Ihre Rohstoffe dem Standard entsprechen, nur weil sie die auf der Positivliste aufgeführten INCIs enthalten! 

Bei Abweichungen vom NCP-Standard wird, je nach Schweregrad, eine Frist zum Beheben derselben gewährt. Diese kann 4 bis 12 Monate betragen. Sind nach Ablauf der Frist die Abweichungen nicht behoben, besteht keine Konformität mehr mit dem NCP, das Zertifikat wird ungültig und die Produkte dürfen nicht mehr mit dem Siegel ausgelobt werden. Die vom NCP zugelassenen Zertifizierungsstellen arbeiten gemäß ISO 17065 und verfügen über langjährige Erfahrungen bei der Zertifizierung von ethisch orientierten Standards der Branche.

Derzeit zugelassene Zertifizierungsstelle bei Produktzertifizierungen:

Haben Sie Interesse an einer Zertifizierung nach dem NCP? Dann nehmen Sie gern Kontakt zu uns auf.

Bereits an Bord

Folgende Unternehmen haben ihre Produkte nach dem NCP Nature-Care-Product-Standard zertifizieren lassen:

Wissenswertes zum NCP-Standard

Lebensmittel und unverarbeitete landwirtschaftliche Erzeugnisse können auf Grundlage der EU-Öko-Verordnung als „Bio“-Produkte ausgewiesen werden. Für Naturprodukte, die zwar land- oder forstwirtschaftlich erzeugt und verarbeitet, jedoch keine Lebensmittel sind, existieren bisher keine gesetzliche Regelung über „Bio“-Qualität.
Dem Verständnis und den Erwartungen von Verbraucher*innen entsprechend, sollen Naturprodukte selbstverständlich so weit wie möglich in natürlichen Prozessen entstanden sein. 

Um dies zu gewährleisten, tauscht sich die Arbeitsgruppe „ökologische Rohstoffe“ regelmäßig zu allen aktuellen und nachhaltigkeitsrelevanten Themen aus. Die Expertenrunde, die zur Zeit aus der GfaW, EcoControl und INCI-Experts besteht, entwickelt im gegenseitigen Wissens- und Ideentransfer nachhaltige ökologische Anforderungen an Rohstoffe für Natur- bzw. „Bio“-Produkte.
Ein wichtiger Fokus dabei ist der Ersatz petrochemischer Ausgangsmaterialien durch pflanzliche, manchmal auch tierische oder von Pilzen stammende Stoffe. 

Insbesondere bei der Herstellung von Naturkosmetik, ökologischen Wasch- und Reinigungsmitteln sowie Haushaltsartikeln wird mit dem Ersatz erhebliche Pionierarbeit geleistet. Geht es doch vor allem darum, die Funktionalität der Produkte zu gewährleisten (bzw. ggf. noch zu verbessern).

Wenn die Rohstoffe pflanzlichen oder tierischen Ursprungs schließlich noch aus ökologischer Landwirtschaft stammen, dann entsteht ein wirkliches „Bio“-Non-Food-Produkt!

Sollten Sie an einer Mitarbeit in der Arbeitsgruppe „ökologische Rohstoffe“ interessiert sein, setzen Sie sich gern mit uns in Verbindung.